Music: Best Christmas Song Ever – Fairytale of New York

Fairytale of New York – Written bt Jem Finer and Shane MacGowan. Performed by The Pogues.  Vocals by Shane MacGowan and Kirsty MacColl.   Released on the 1987 LP “If I Should Fall From Grace with God” it was voted the No. 1 all time best Christmas song by UK fans and press. It is the saddest, most bitter-sweet song ever written – telling the tale of a down-on-his-luck bum waking up in a New York drunk tank and reminiscing about when life was better with his wife/girlfriend/lover. If you don’t have this on your Xmas playlist, add it right now.

It was Christmas Eve babe In the drunk tank       An old man said to me, won’t  see another one      And then he sang a song The rare old mountain Dew     I  turned my face away And dreamed about you    Got on a lucky one Came  in eighteen to one      I’ve got a feeling This year’s for me and you         So happy Christmas I love you baby I can see a better time      When all our dreams come true

They’ve got cars big as bars. They’ve got rivers of gold. But the wind goes right through you It’s no place for the old.  When you first took my  hand On a cold Christmas Eve You promised me Broadway was waiting for  me.

Shane, Kirsty and The Pogues

(Shane) You were handsome You were pretty Queen of New York City When the band  finished playing They howled out for more.                                                                                                                                                                                            (Kirsty) Sinatra was swinging, All the  drunks they were singing We kissed on a corner Then danced through the  night

Kirsty MacColl, Shane MacGowan, Phillip Chevron

(Shane) You’re a bum You’re a punk You’re an old slut on junk Lying there almost dead on a drip in that bed                                                                                                                                                                                                                  (Kirsty) You scumbag, you maggot You cheap lousy  faggot Happy Christmas your arse I pray God it’s our last

The Pogues

The boys of the NYPD choir Still singing “Galway Bay” And the bells were  ringing out For Christmas day.
(Kirsty) I could have been someone Well so  could anyone You took my dreams from me When I first found you                                                                                                                                                                                                          (Shane) I kept  them with me babe I put them with my own Can’t make it all alone I’ve built my dreams around you.                                                                                                                                                                                                              The boys of the NYPD choir Still singing “Galway Bay” And the bells were  ringing out For Christmas day

Beauty and the Beast

Kirsty MacColl

Kirsty

The Pogues

Christmas Eve New York City

Posted on December 18, 2011, in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

